R.M. of Frenchman Butte Background

The Rural Municipality of Frenchman Butte No. 501 was incorporated in 1954 with the amalgamation of the R.M. of Paradise Hill, the R.M. of North Star, L.I.D. No. 532 and L.I.D. No. 562.  The municipality consists of 26 townships and encompasses the Village of Paradise Hill, the Town of St. Walburg and the Hamlet of Frenchman Butte.  The R.M. is experiencing an upgrowth in population currently in excess of 1438 people. 

The Rural Municipality of Frenchman Butte No. 501 is one of the largest municipalities in the Province of Saskatchewan having a geographical area of about 1,928.32 square kilometers.  The R.M. has been traditionally recognized as an agricultural based municipality, supporting both the cattle and grain industries, but in recent years, the oil & gas industry has been developing in the area at a rapid pace and changing the dynamics of the R.M. of Frenchman Butte.   Employment opportunities in the oilpatch are allowing our young people to stay in their home communities, while attracting a significant influx of new people into these same communities.  It is indeed an exciting time to be a part of the R.M. of Frenchman Butte No. 501..

Canada's only border city, Lloydminster, is less than a one hour drive, from either Paradise Hill or St. Walburg, west on Hwy #3 and south on Hwy #17 .  Both communities are also within a three hour drive from the major cities of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, to our East and Edmonton, Alberta, to our west. Both of these cities are located on the Yellowhead Highway (#16).

RM History 1910 - 2015 (Includes Council)


R.M. of Frenchman Butte © - Design by M.R. Websites & Apps